About the City of Irwinton

Welcome to the official website of Irwinton, Georgia!  This website will provide you with the most up to date information on what is happening in our community and at City Hall . Please take a moment to look around and come back often to check our progress. Incorporated by the Georgia Legislature in 1811, the City of Irwinton is the County Seat of Wilkinson County, Georgia and was named for Georgia Governor Jared Irwin.   Irwinton is centrally located between Macon, Dublin, and Milledgeville, Georgia.

Irwinton is proud to host the seat of Wilkinson County’s Government Offices including: Wilkinson County Chamber of Commerce, Development Authority of Wilkinson County, Wilkinson County Board of Education, Wilkinson County Law Enforcement Center, Emergency Management, Coroner, and the Wilkinson County Courthouse housing the Superior, Probate, Magistrate, and Juvenile Courts, Tax Assessor, Tax Commissioner, Election Registrar, and Board of Commissioners.

City Services include: Police protection, Fire Protection, Municipal Water Service, Garbage Collection, Street Services, and Municipal Planning.

City Government is comprised of a Mayor and four members of Council.   Each elected official serves a four year term.  City elections are every two years with the Mayor and two members of Council on the ballot.  An election is held two years later for two council members’ four year terms.

City Council Meetings are held the second Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. at Irwinton City Hall.  Called City Countil Meetings and Work Sessions are publicized as per Georgia Law.

Faces of Irwinton


Copyright © 2018 City of Irwinton, Georgia All Rights Reserved
Site Design by the Middle Georgia Regional Commission