"Let us not seek the Republican answer or the Democratic answer, but the right answer."

John F. Kennedy

City Departments

  • Residential and Commercial Water
  • Solid Waste
  • Police
  • Fire
  • Streets
  • Municipal Court
  • Planning
  • Beautification

"The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy."

Rev. Martin Luther King, Jr.

About Irwinton, Georgia

Incorporated by the Georgia Legislature in 1904, the City of Irwinton is the County Seat of Wilkinson County, Georgia and was named for Georgia Governor Jared Irwin.   Irwinton is centrally located between Macon, Dublin, and Milledgeville, Georgia.

Irwinton is proud to host the seat of Wilkinson County's Government Offices including: Wilkinson County Chamber of Commerce, Development Authority of Wilkinson County, Wilkinson County Board of Education, Wilkinson County Law Enforcement Center, Emergency Management, Coroner, and the Wilkinson County Courthouse housing the Superior, Probate, Magistrate, and Juvenile Courts, Tax Assessor, Tax Commissioner, Election Registrar, and Board of Commissioners.

City Services include: Police protection, Fire Protection, Municipal Water Service, Garbage Collection, Street Services, and Municipal Planning.

City Government is comprised of a Mayor and four members of Council.   Each elected official serves a four year term.  City elections are every two years with the Mayor and two members of Council on the ballot.  An election is held two years later for two council members' four year terms.

City Council Meetings are held the second Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. at Irwinton City Hall.  Called City Countil Meetings and Work Sessions are publicized as per Georgia Law.